Update Knowledge on Eagle with Bad Beak

Screen Shot 2014-02-17 at 8.43.14 AM

Screen Shot 2014-02-17 at 8.44.06 AM

I reached out to Peter Sharpe, Ph.D. of the Institute for Wildlife Studies in California about the eagle we captured in photo when visiting Lock and Dam 14.

He responded with the following information which I found interesting.

I can’t tell if that is a deformity or an injury. It almost looks like the middle section was broken off. If that it the case, then it may grow back slowly. I think it can still eat because it has the tearing parts of the beak still.

This is not a specific answer, but what I found interesting is the chance that the beak might actually grow back. I will have to do more research on this topic because I never thought that the beak was something that would regrow. 

You can learn more about Peter Sharpe at www.iws.org

I am hoping that we can find time to do an interview and podcast, but he did state that he is ready to be out on a project surveying and banding birds. I will keep you posted if we can arrange anything.

If you know anymore about the beak leave a comment. A very interesting topic for students and eagle fans to explore.

Leave a Reply

